Executive Profiles

Laura Bulk, Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy, President CUPE 2278
I am happy to be joining the CUPE 2278 exec team, with the goal of enhancing the experiences of TAs in the UBC community.

I studied anti-oppressive social work practice at UVic, obtaining my Bachelor of Social Work in 2012. In August 2014 I graduated with my Master of Occupational Therapy from UBC. Being passionate about promoting equal opportunities for persons with disabilities and evidence-based practice, I am now pursuing a PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences (specifically in the area of occupational science) with a focus on enhancing social and occupational justice. As an occupational therapist, a person with a disability, a scholar, and a social worker, I hope to use my skills to serve as an advocate for positive change at policy and societal levels.

In the department of Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy I am a TA, as well as Department Rep. I presently work as an occupational therapist in the Greater Vancouver community – I consider it a privilege to come alongside people on the recovery and rehabilitation journey. I am a dedicated volunteer with many organizations, including the Active Living Alliance for Canadians with a Disability and the Canadian National Institute for the Blind. Other things for which I create time include spending time with friends and family, going for power walks, baking for youth group, cooking for a crowd, and painting to peaceful music.

If you have questions or concerns, please contact me via president@cupe2278.ca.

Gillian Glass, Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies; First Vice-President

Gillian is a PhD student in Religious Studies in the Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies Department. Her interests are gender, cross-cultural exchange, literary motifs, and mythology generally. She’s a nerd. She joined CUPE 2278 in order to encourage TAs and promote access to legal support.

Nelson Gorrin, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Trustee

Nelson is a pharmacist who studied at the University of La Laguna in Spain. He completed his Masters in Public Health degree with a specialization in Epidemiology and Methods in 1997 at the Berlin Institute of Technology (Germany). His master’s thesis focused on an environmental medicine issue, evaluating the impact of organic emissions from green waste compost facilities and their implication for the health of the population. Nelson is now pursuing doctoral studies in the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at UBC. Nelson’s research aims to support healthcare providers to improve adherence to prescribed medication for asthma. Nelson has been a TA representative of Pharmaceutical Sciences in CUPE 2278 since September 2014 and is now the trustee.

Paul Bucci, Computer Science, Member at Large

Gil Henriques, Zoology, Member at Large

Other members of the executive:

Daniel Gamez, Geography, Chief Shop Steward
Philip Kimani, History, Member at Large
Soheila Zarei, Member at Large